Menstrual Cups

MeLuna

MeLunaFlower

http://www.meluna.eu

Country of origin: Germany
Composition: FDA approved TPE (thermoplastic elastomer)
Sizes: “S” (small), “M” (medium), “L” (large) and “XL” (Extra Large).  Also a range of “Shorty” sizes, which are shorter cups – ShortyS, ShortyM, ShortyL, ShortyXL.
Dimensions & Capacity:
S =38mm diameter, 45mm long without stem. 15mls to airholes, 23ml to rim.
M = 41mm diameter, 48mm long without stem. 20mls to airholes, 28ml to rim.
L = 44mm diameter, 51mm long without stem. 24mls to airholes, 34ml to rim.
XL = 47mm diameter, 56mm long without stem. 30mls to airholes, 42mls to rim.
Shorty S = 38mm diameter, 35mm long without stem. 8ml to airholes, 15mls to rim.
Shorty M = 41mm diameter, 38mm long without stem. 10ml to airholes, 18mls to rim.
Shorty L = 44mm diameter, 41mm long without stem. 14mls to airholes, 22mls to rim.
Shorty XL = 47mm diameter, 44mm long without stem. 16mls to airholes, 27mls to rim.
Stem: “Stem” (cross between a flat tab and a rounded thick stem), ball, ring or basic (no stem)
Measuring Lines: No
Cost (RRP): € 15.00 [Currency Converter]
Been around since: Early June 2009
Unique Design?: Yes (This cup design appears to have been created by this brand and has not been seen used by other brands)
Review – Meluna old: https://menstrualcups.wordpress.com/2009/07/21/meluna-my-thoughts
Review – new Glitter Cup: https://menstrualcups.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/meluna-glitter-cup
Other Details: Several Colours available, with glitter versions as well.  Not only offers a choice of stem, but also a choice of how hard or soft you would like.  First cup manufacturer to offer the additional ball/ring or no stem options, and the only manufacturer to offer these different options.

TPE is a (BPA-free) plastic that is used to make medical equipment such as catheters, as well as other products such as baby bottle teats and some vibrators. (It may also be the same material as Insteads disposable cups are made from).

MeLunanew MeLunanew2 MeLunanew3

MeLunarow

Holy Cup are rebranding MeLuna cups in Brazil. Silja are manufacturing MeLuna design cups from silicone

July 1, 2009 - Posted by | The Cups | , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Hi Obsi,

    i just wanted to come back on here (i was here about 2 months ago & on nappycino asking questions) & tell you that i LOVE my me luna cup. i havent had any snapping open issues yet, & to be honest i dont really feel like they are to hard or anything (i havent done a squish comparison with my diva or lunette though), the flexibility of them suits me fine & i actually find it easier to insert than either my lunette or diva, maybe due to the smaller size (i got the medium one). it doesnt hold as much ofcourse but that just means i have to change it every couple of hours on the first day of my cycle which is no big issue. i find it SOOOOOO comfortable, infact my only concern is that i might forget its in there! i find it much more comfy than either the lunette or diva, both of which feel like they slip to me for some reason & both of them also sit to low (i think my cervix must sit lower than normal???). so anyway, ive finally found the right cup for me! YAY!!!! thanks so much for all the wonderful info you have on this site, you were the reason i found a cup perfect for me – THANK YOU!!!!!
    mel 🙂

    Comment by Mel | November 7, 2010

  2. just found out – there is new design AND special edition of MeLunas – “glittery” :DDD on their webpage!

    Comment by galthea | December 9, 2010

  3. The glitter ones are made of TPE too?

    Comment by Nayeli | December 16, 2011

  4. I got this one. They now also got mini’s, which are even smaller than small.
    I got the mini one and it’s great for me as I got little flow and a short vagina. Although I probably could have fitted a larger one after all.

    Comment by Emma | July 3, 2013

  5. Why would one choose a glittery luna cup?! For me it’s only adding unnecessary things while it’s such a relief that conscious products are being made these days. (Until the next doom news appears 🙂 )

    Comment by Eva | September 15, 2014

  6. What I loved about this cup was the color and stem options! This was my second brand of cup that I used, and while I tried to use it, it was too hard for me. It would pop open on me, regardless of the fold, and when I did manage to get it inside me, it was uncomfortable. But I still like them regardless!

    Comment by Natasha | November 23, 2014

  7. Well…. I specifically chose a glittery cup 😀 and I’m sure a lot of others like that option – makes it a bit more fun.

    Comment by obsidian | January 25, 2015

  8. I just got a Meluna XL sport because I was trying to find the biggest cup. (At the time I hadn’t heard of the Luv Ur Body). I have the Large Yuuki and I read the Meluna XL is supposed to hold 42ml to the rim and the Yuuki holds slightly less, 37ml to the rim. Well I did the cup comparison and the Yuuki actually holds a little bit more. So Yuuki is still bigger than the Meluna XL in case anyone is looking for info on the cup with the most capacity.

    Comment by bluemoon79 | September 18, 2015

  9. I don’t know if it’s already available outside Germany. But now there is a silicone cup in MeLuna design made in Germany. (It’s not made by MeLuna, but they helped the manufacturer of this new cup. It’s calles Silja.
    http://www.silja-cup.com/Online-Shop

    Comment by Katrin | July 15, 2016

  10. Yes, I’m in the process of adding it and a few other cups to the site 😀

    Comment by obsidian | July 15, 2016


Leave a comment