Menstrual Cups

Review – Yuuki (new)

Since Yuuki redesigned their cup, and I hadn’t tried the new one, so I asked them to send me one.  Then I realised they have different versions now, and I’m not sure which one they sent me.  I assume the “Classic”?

yuuki-containers  yuuki-container2

They came with containers you can use for storage/soaking the cups, which is nice.  Other than the Lily cups (which came in special printed packets), these are the first cups I’d received where the cups were packed in plastic bags.

yuuki

yuuki2

For some reason my old Yuuki, which I only used for one cycle to review it, turned golden.  So apologies for that in the following comparison photo between the old and new…

yukkioldnew

They seem to be the same shape, except the old cup had smaller holes and the new cup has larger ones, and the old stem was a filled tube with rounded end, and had more grip.  Here’s the original Yuuki cup before it yellowed.

I must admit, I preferred the old one.  The newer silicone is a bit more frosted, but it feels a bit more “plasticky” to me, and doesn’t look as nice IMHO.  The older one was a bit more of the “sticky” sort of feel, but I prefer the feeling of the older one.  I also prefer the solid stem, since there’s less chance of blood getting caught inside.

I assume this is the “Classic”?  as the silicone feels about the same as the old one I have.  I know Yuuki now offers an economy and a soft version too.  But I’m not sure how those feel in comparison to this one.

Testing it out

I’ve been testing out a lot of softer silicone cups lately, which usually require me to push against the vaginal wall with my finger to give it space to fully open up.  So I must say, I did appreciate testing this out and having it pop open perfectly without me needing to do anything!  I’d forgotten how much easier the firmer silicones are able to pop open for me.

I can feel the hollow tube stem more than I could feel the solid one (and more than I feel tab stems) – I think perhaps because the solid stem was rounded on the end, whereas the hollow one is cut straight across.  I still prefer other stem types, but I like the rest of the shape of this cup.


See my detailed review & comparisons with other cups here.

March 14, 2015 - Posted by | reviews | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

