Menstrual Cups

Review – Luv Ur Body

LUB_box1 LUB_box2

When I got the package I was very surprised by how thin the box was!  But I suppose it is far more eco-friendly to minimize packaging where possible, and possibly cheaper to post too.

Inside the box the 3 sizes of cups were in separate bag packaging

LUB_packages

LUB_contents

To keep the packages flatter, the cups have plastic tags (the ones that attach price tags to clothing) through the airholes, to hold the cup folded.  Which is quite clever!  It does mean the cups are a bit more oval than round when you first open them, but they seem to bounce back to fully round if you squish them the other way.

LUB_squashed

LUB_3c

LUB_3a LUB_3b

The cups are fairly large.  The small one is only a little smaller than a large cup in other brands, and the large cup is very large.  Here’s a comparison with the Large Lunette and Large MeLuna

LUB_3lunette LUB_3meluna

The cups have a frosted look to the silicone, with raised flower designs all over the outside of the cup.  Medium level squishyness – to me they feel quite good.  The stems are little leaves which are cute, and they are very flexible. They seem to be designed so that you can cut the leaf part off, leaving a small ball if you wanted to.  The base of the cup has small flower designs for extra grip.

The small cups have the option for the flower designs to be coloured.  I’m not sure what they use for this, or how they do it, but those coloured raised sections feel the same as the rest of the cup, and scratching it with my nail doesn’t affect it at all.

.

Using the Cup

I tried the large size first, but I found it way too large for me.  I couldn’t get it anywhere near opening up.  So then I tried the medium.  I was able to get it open, but the longer length of the cup meant that it felt annoying, as the base of the cup it was almost at the entrance of my vagina, with the stem poking out.  The small cup however, I found to be the right size for me.  With the small size I wasn’t able to feel the cup while being worn at all – I couldn’t feel the stem.

I had no leaking with the small or medium sizes.

Cleaning was easy, the airholes are big enough that they don’t stay clogged, and the raised design on the outside didn’t seem to make cleaning any more difficult.

Conclusion

I didn’t like the large or medium sizes, I felt they were much to big for me, and I wonder if there are many women who would find those sizes better than the more standard sizes for cups (though I suppose it is good to have options for longer and wider cups).  But I did like the small size.  I think the flower designs on it are very pretty, though I do wonder what they are made from and the safety aspect of that.  I like the leaf stems, they are comfortable but also give a good grip.


See my detailed review & comparisons with other cups here.

March 14, 2015 - Posted by | reviews | ,

16 Comments »

  1. How’s the stiffness of the rim compared to the body? Also, could you measure the small? The only measurements I can find put it at the same size as a small Si-bell, which, from your pictures, is obviously not the case.

    Comment by Selofain | July 9, 2015

  2. Trying to describe or rate squishyness is really difficult, which is why I do the caliper test now and don’t try to describe squishyness any other way.

    Small measurements are 42mm diameter, 65mm total length, 47mm length without stem (18mm stem).

    Since the “large” LUB is quite large, for the squish test I did the small and the medium (in place of the large).

    Comment by obsidian | July 10, 2015

  3. I think you may have misunderstood my comment. I was asking about the rim compared to the body of the cup, not the cup compared to other cups. For example, in many soft cups, the rim is stiffer than the body. I don’t need a hard rating, just a vague “what it feels like” should do. (Same, harder, or softer is what I’m looking for.)

    Comment by Selofain | July 10, 2015

  4. Also, the small LuvUrBody really is shorter than a small Yuuki?

    Comment by Selofain | July 10, 2015

  5. I knew you meant the rim compared to the body of the cup, but I wasn’t sure what exactly you wanted to know.

    They feel the same in the rim and in the body to me….

    Comment by obsidian | July 14, 2015

  6. Small Yuuki & small LUB 😀

    Comment by obsidian | July 14, 2015

  7. Thanks! That’s what I wanted to know. The official length of the small seems a bit under-estimated, but otherwise looks like a decent halfway size between other smalls and larges.

    Comment by Selofain | July 15, 2015

  8. I guess it depends on where they measure to. I think technically the ball part before the leaf stem, is considered part of the stem rather than the cup body.

    Comment by obsidian | July 15, 2015

  9. Thank you for making the review on the LUB cups in all their sizes. I personally use the large size and even then, it only lasted me 5-6 hours before it leaked. So yes, to answer your query posed in your conclusion, there are ladies out there that need cups with very large capacity to accommodate for their extremely heavy periods.

    On LUB’s blog, they listed their reasons for why the Medium is so long and why the Large is super big compared to other more standard sizes for cups; the gist of which is that the Medium are for ladies who have low cervix and the Large are for ladies that suffer extremely heavy periods either due to health problems or are just naturally heavy bleeders, and also for ladies who have given birth and are “wider down there”(their words, not my own).

    Comment by Stephynee | July 22, 2015

  10. Yes I’m aware of LUB’s FAQ on sizing, I’ve been meaning to write something about that 9and a few other issues) as a separate post.

    I realise there is a market for women who want a larger capacity cup.

    My periods used to be very heavy (I have PCOS, so now I’m on the pill for that and they are lighter)…. so I would have to empty my large Lunette a couple of times a day – but I’d personally rather empty a slightly smaller cup every 6 hours than have a larger cup I wear longer.

    I was simply wondering if there were *many* women who needed such a large cup over the large cups available in other brands….. it seems to me that a lot of the LUB advertising is trying to persuade women of the benefits of using a higher capacity larger cup, and defending the size of their cups… which makes me question how much is making a cup to suit people’s needs, or convincing people they have the need for the cup. Since the only reason to defend your design is if people are commenting negatively on it.

    As for being “wider down there” – which LUB seems to indicate is a problem for African women …. I personally would think that it would be important for a woman’s health to encourage doing things like kegals – which would also help other issues too. Since if the vagina has stretched enough through birthing multiple children that a larger cup is needed for fit – then incontinence and potentially prolapses are likely to also be issues, that muscle strengthening could help.

    Comment by obsidian | July 23, 2015

  11. Hi! Do you still have your medium size LUB? I am one of those women who bleed to death on their heavy days. Currently i use a large Fleurcup, but it’s not enough for such a heavy flow. I would love to give it a new home If you can part with it. How can i contact with you? Thank’s, have a nice day!

    Comment by Karlita M. | January 28, 2016

  12. I keep all the cups so I have them to reference, sorry.

    Comment by obsidian | February 19, 2016

  13. I have a relatively high cervix, high enough that I can’t reach it with my middle finger. So last month I got the Lunette size 1 and the Diva Cup Model 1/Size 1. In terms of overall length the Lunette is longer and I used that on my first day of my period and it wasn’t too bad except for the removal which was difficult because I couldn’t reach the base of the cup but I could reach the stem at least. I thought it was due to it being my first time that I was having a hard time. Then the next day I decided to try the Diva Cup which has a longer cup but shorter stem and I had the worst experience in trying to take it out, way worse than the Lunette and I could barely grab onto the stem and I couldn’t take it out no matter how much I tried. When I tried to grab the stem I couldn’t grab it with two fingers only one and no matter how much I pushed it was still high up in there. Eventually an hour later I got it out but not without some tools to help me….I think it has to due with me having a really high cervix so it makes removing the cup a lot harder but I’m only 5′ 1″ and 105 lbs and somewhat of an average flow so I was surprised to find out that my cervix was that high. I don’t know if it’s because it was my first time that I was having difficulty or if it was because I didn’t have a long enough cup which was why I had difficulty reaching it. I couldn’t reach the rim of the cups for both of them either. There aren’t a lot of people online that I found with my problem of a really high cervix because most of them suggested the Diva Cup which definitely didn’t work out for me. So I was wondering if the Luv UR Body medium size would be a good option. I heard the medium is good for those with low cervixes which I’m confused about. Does that mean it won’t work for me? I apologize for the long comment but I’d appreciate any help at all because I really want this to work.

    Comment by Jenny | March 6, 2016

  14. I have a high cervix too… if you can reach the stem that’s fine – you can use that to pull the cup down so that you can reach up and press the rim in to break the seal. I find the tab stem cups easier to grab than the shorter stems. Some people say that for a low cervix the wide cups like LUB can be worn with the cervix inside the cup (that is assuming that the cervix hangs into the vagina, so that the cup walls extend up into the vagina around the cervix – difficult to explain), but they would be fine for a high cervix too.

    Comment by obsidian | March 7, 2016

  15. I live the luvur body size L, because this is the only cup which can deal with my very heavy flow. I tried the large meluna, but I found it too small. So, I tried the big Yuki, which was a good cup, but quite hard to get out. I’m happy that such big cups exist 🙂

    Comment by Largecup | March 12, 2016

  16. I bought the Luv ur body cup size large. I know it says it’s only for women who have had a child, but my period is heavy and i was fed up with other cups that i had to keep emptying every few hours. So i took a chance and bought it. It’s amazing I am so happy with it. Best of all no leeks and no worries about it overflowing. Great suction and easy to get in and out. It’s so comfortable I forget it is inside me. Best cup ever! Finally after trying 3 different cup brands i have found the one that suits me.

    Comment by Polly | December 6, 2016


Leave a Reply

