Menstrual Cups

Claricup – Review

I got one of each size, plus the “Clarigyna” – which is a washing solution for my “intimate parts” (tee hee), and can be used to wash the cups.

clari_boxes

clari_gyna

The cups come with multilingual instruction sheet and a black plastic storage box

clari_box

Interestingly, the instruction sheet says that the Claricup is “the only menstrual cup made of biocompatible  ANTI-MICROBIAL medical grade silicone.” (their bolding) – So I’m not sure what makes theirs antimicrobial (supposedly the addition of silver).  The instructions are more detailed than some of the other cups instructions which is good, but it basically covers all the usual things.

Now I just want to point out that (sadly) this cup is NOT purple, as it will appear to be in most of the photos.  The flash in the photos makes it look purple, but it is definitely a blue colour.  It is a very dark (unusual colour) blue, and does have a purple hint to it, but this colour below is what the colour looks like.

clari_blue

The black storage containers are a cool addition

clari_cups

Claricup softness/squishyness compared with a Sckoon

clari_squish-sckoon

clari_cups1Again, these photos make the cups look purple, but they are actually dark blue, like you can see in the squish photo above.

clari_cups2

The holes aren’t drilled through well, I do have to say…  In the large size some of them look a bit messy on the outside.  The small cup some of the silicone around the holes on the inside is poking out into the cup (which is what is appearing white in the photos).

clari_holes clari_holes2

And interestingly, in the instructions, the second note in the “precautions for use” section says to “make sure the 4 perforations an the top of your Claricup are correctly pierced“.  I’ve never seen a cup company list that before,  so obviously it’s a known defect with this brand.  It doesn’t bother me, as the holes are drilled through, just not as neatly as other cups.

.

Using the cup

Now I do frequently say that my favourite stem type is a flat tab (Lunette style), and I don’t tend to like any other stem type….. well I have now found a stem type that I like even more than the flat tab!!!

The stem on these is BRILLIANT!

My main issues with the thin “stick” kind of stems I’ve tried with the Juju and Sckoon are that they are stretchy, so when you go to pull the cup down the cup tends to stay put and you’re stretching the stem, and they are slippery.  This stem is not too stretchy, so works well to pull the cup down, and it has really good grip.  So I find it has just as much grip as a tab stem, but is even more comfortable to wear.  I could not feel this stem at all.  A great stem design!

The cup itself I like the shape of.  No “ridge”.  The silicone has that soft “peach skin” type feeling, it’s a nice soft (“squishy”) silicone.  No writing on it anywhere, so that makes cleaning easier.

The colour is interesting.  It’s not what I would choose, and at first I thought it was a bit unappealing, but it has grown on me and now I find it quite pretty.  There are too many pink and very “girly” coloured cups, so in a way I think it is nice to have a cup that isn’t so pink and girly.  Especially since there are people who menstruate who don’t identify as female.  I’m sure there are a lot of people who appreciate cups that aren’t pastel colours.

This cycle I’ve had 4 cups to test out, so unfortunately I haven’t been able to wear the cup for very long to give it a proper test.  Over the coming months I will try it out more, and update this review if needed.

I tried both the large and small cups.  I wore the large cup for a few hours during the day.   I found it opened up ok, I just needed to press against the vaginal wall  a bit to give it room to open (as I usually have to do with the softer cups). I did have a slight amount of leakage (just a little spotting), and the cup had not got very full, but maybe that was just a once off issue, I also had another cup I was testing that leaked that day when it hadn’t when testing it the previous day.

The small opened up fine.  I wore the small one overnight on a lighter flow day, and had no leakage overnight (the cup didn’t get very full though).

I’ve been using the “Clarigyna” wash to clean the cups before and after use.  Other than being a little too liquid (so if you store it so it’s standing on the cap, it can leak a little), I have found it good – no irritations or anything.  I’ve even put a little into one of those little fish shaped bottles you get soy sauce in, so I can take some with me if I’m camping or out.

.

Conclusion

To be honest, I got this cup mostly so that I could review it and see if it was like the Si-Bell, I wasn’t expecting to be as impressed with it as I am – given how I usually prefer the tab stems.  I really like the stem, I do actually like the colour and I find it is nice and comfortable and easy to clean.  While it doesn’t come with a pouch, it does come with a storage container (that can also be used for soaking/steralising), which is really useful.

I think I would have to put this cup up there in my top favourite cups!


See my detailed review & comparisons with other cups here.

February 14, 2015 - Posted by | photos, reviews |

12 Comments »

  1. oooooh! Did you find that the stem didn’t really stretch at all, or just not as much as the Sckoon? This is one of the things that gives me pause about the Si-Bell, which is otherwise my Goldilocks. After using some petrolatum-based ointment to treat the yeasties while on my period, the silicone on the stem degraded to the point that one time, while removing it…poof! half the stem snapped off. Because my cervix is so high I could no longer use the cup effectively and I had to sell it. I have a habit of really digging my nails in to tug at my stems for removal (high cervix + rather tight + I have never really mastered that “bearing down”) and I do notice that the stem on my newer, large Si-Bell will stretch quite a bit before the cup itself comes down. If you find the stem on this one sturdier I might have to splurge on it!

    As an aside–I’m still comfortable calling the cup purple, or maybe “violet” though definitely a much darker color than your flash and the box made it look like. I still prefer the pink of the special edition Si-Bells but for a sturdier stem, whatever, I’ll take it.

    Comment by MC Community Member | February 15, 2015

  2. It’s definitely blue.. believe me, I love purple so much if I could think of it as purple, I would – but it’s most definitely blue.
    http://www.claripharm.com/fr/products

    Maybe you could consider it “indigo” – but nowhere near violet or purple.

    The stem stretched slightly, but nowhere near as much as Sckoon or Juju stems stretch. I don’t have my Si-Bell yet to compare with.

    Comment by obsidian | February 16, 2015

  3. Interesting. From what I have read before, antimicrobial means toxic chemicals. I wouldn’t want that in my vagina and I would then consider it not medical grade silicone. I would want more information from the company on what makes this antimicrobial, why they felt the need to do so, and what safety tests they did for the natural environment of the vagina.

    Comment by goodfamiliesdo | February 16, 2015

  4. @goodfamiliesdo they may have just called it “antimicrobial” because silicone is inert and germs cannot grow on it as they can within a tampon. I doubt there’s any special disinfectant on them. If anything it’s just a bad translation + attempt at advertising.

    Comment by MC Community Member | February 18, 2015

  5. According to here:
    http://www.easycup.fr/liste-des-coupes/56-claricup.html

    “The Claricup is a section of medical grade silicone, which specifies that it is Claripharm laboratory ” only menstrual cup antimicrobial medical silicone and biocompatible ”. The antimicrobial agent is a silver-based, it is incorporated directly into the base of silicone. It is effective against a broad spectrum of bacteria, yeast, fungi and molds, it has a low level of toxicity to the human body. The material was tested for cytotoxicity and has been proven that it is not toxic to humans.”

    Comment by obsidian | February 18, 2015

  6. About the holes being “correctly pierced,” when I first bought a Diva cup, six years ago, it came with a Diva pin! (I may still have it in a junk drawer someplace.) Maybe I assumed wrong, but I thought it was to make sure the holes were indeed pierced open.

    Comment by trejoy | February 24, 2015

  7. I thought the Diva pin was just a piece of jewellery/decorative thing – not for cleaning holes or piercing them.

    Comment by obsidian | February 25, 2015

  8. I do not own the sckoon and I was curious how stiff you would rate this cup?

    Comment by OrganicCloud | March 12, 2015

  9. The “squish” tests I have done to compare the cups can be found here: https://menstrualcups.wordpress.com/2015/02/13/squish-test-results

    Comment by obsidian | March 12, 2015

  10. Thank you! I saw that and I first I thought I wouldn’t be able to understand it because I don’t have the lunette but I think I got the general idea. I love how much work you put into your post!

    Comment by OrganicCloud | March 12, 2015

  11. 🙂 thanks!

    Comment by obsidian | March 12, 2015

  12. The slanted and not very neatly pinched holes make me think of the Fleurcup. Same factory maybe?

    Comment by Monika | March 12, 2015


Leave a Reply

