Menstrual Cups

Femmycycle – Review

I’d been curious to try one of these cups for a long time.  Such an interesting design for this cup!

femmycycle-box2 femmycycle-boxcd

It comes with a CD – it shows a documentary about the Femmecap (contraceptive device made by the same company) and the Femmycycle menstrual cup – as well as a video about the cup and how to fold, insert and remove it.  Probably not necessary to be honest, but it’s nice that they have the extra touch of the CD to give people a visual instruction on how to fold, for those who can’t look it up online.

femmycycle-boxinside

femmycycle-contents

The pouch is very different to the other cups pouches I’ve seen.  It is made from the type of material that reusable shopping/grocery bags is made from.  It also has a snap closure and a “gusset” – rather than just being a rectangle of cloth with sewn edges and drawstring like the others.

femmycycle-contents2

The cups themselves are surprisingly large. Very soft and squishy.

femmycycles

This cup has a… I don’t know what you’d call it… “anti-spill rim”?

femmycycleIt pops in/out of the top rim of the cup, making it into a sort of funnel type design, so the blood can flow into the cup, but can’t flow back out again when tipped on its side.

That part pops out so that you can properly clean inside.

femmycycles2

Here’s the Regular (large) size Femmycycle compared to the large size Juju (which was just the first large cup I grabbed), so you can see that compared to the conventional shape of menstrual cup, it’s quite a bit wider, and shorter.

femmycycle-juju

femmycycle-juju-sideThough the rim is smaller than the Juju

Here are the “regular” and “Teen” versions compared to a large Lunette for reference of “squishyness”.

femmycycle-lunette-squish femmycycle-lunette-squish2

Wearing the cup…

I’ll be honest, I had 4 menstrual cups to test out this period, so I wasn’t able to wear each cup for a full cycle to be able to test it fully.

I tried the “regular” (large) size first.  While the silicone itself is very soft, the extra “anti-leak” part around the rim makes that part a bit stiffer and thicker, so folding is probably about equal with one of the medium-squishyness cups in terms of the pressure needed to keep it folded.

I tried inserting it using the C fold while on the toilet, and I found I couldn’t get it to open up at all.   But I’d also had trouble earlier in the day with the Lily Cup too, so I think at that time, it was an issue with the contours of my vagina as well as the size/squishyness/shape of the cup.

So I tried the “teen” (small) size.  That seemed to open up ok, but because the base of the cup is so squishy and bulbous, and I couldn’t seem to find where the rim was to feel around there, I wasn’t sure.  Normally I can tell by the way the base of the cup feels, if the rim is fully open or not… and normally I can reach up to the rim to feel there. I suspect this is something that I would find easier the more practice I have using this cup.

I figured I’d know if it wasn’t opened and sealing, if I leaked.  I didn’t have any leaks, so it must have opened fine.

Normally I am aware of the feeling of the stem part of the cups after I first put them in, I was not able to feel the Femmycycle at all.  While the feeling doesn’t normally bother me, not being able to feel it at all, is much nicer!

I wore it for several hours, and I’d checked a few times and no leaking – but after a few hours I could feel the telltale “bubbling” sort of feeling that let me know it was leaking.  I did spill some when removing the cup – because the cup is so squishy, when you hold it to remove it, you’re like to so squish some out if it is too full, and the “anti-leak” guard thing can only do so much….  The cup was still about half full when I took it out to have a look – so it probably started leaking because it got too full.  Either because it overflowed or maybe it got heavier and slipped down a bit?  not sure.

I found it had ridden up quite high – I am used to wearing cups with a long stem – as I have short fingers and I presume a long vagina – so I need to be able to pull the cups down to better reach them,  I was just able to reach the ring to pull it down, and I definitely prefer a ring stem to a ball or narrow stick stem – The ring was the perfect size to get a finger into to grab it, but yet I couldn’t feel it while inside me at all.  So I was very impressed with that aspect.

I decided to try the large size out again, for overnight.  I don’t normally wear cups overnight, but with so many to test – I felt I should wear it overnight.  I didn’t have the same trouble as earlier in the day with getting it to open, it seemed to open up, but I still wasn’t completely sure.  But I had no leaking at all overnight  – the cup only got to about half full and I didn’t spill any when removing it – so I think the anti-spill spout feature does help reduce spillage when removing the cup – if you don’t let the cup get past about half full.

Cleaning was very easy – with no airholes to clean, it is simply a case of flipping up the spout thing, tipping out the blood, rinsing out the cup and you’re all good. Because of that spout part, you can actually give the cup a shake and swirl the water around inside it – which helps to get it clean – you can also stick your finger into the cup to wipe around the inside.  I’m not sure I’d call it “fun” – but because of that ability to swish the water around, it was maybe the most “entertaining” cup to clean 😀  it made me think of how wine people swirl wine around in the goblet….  which made me giggle….  (I’m childish though!)

One aspect I appreciated was that I felt more secure being able to carry the cup around while it was full of blood.  I know what sounds weird, but let me explain 🙂  See, our toilet is in a separate room to the bathroom where the sink is.  I find that just emptying the cup into the toilet lets the blood sink to the bottom of the bowl and needs a second flush or a toilet brush to remove it (or you need to put toilet paper into the bowl first) …. So what I often do if the cup isn’t too full, is slowly put some toilet paper into the cup to soak up the blood, then put the toilet paper into the toilet…… but with this cup, I rested the cup in the end of a toilet roll while I finished up in the toilet (empty toilet paper rolls make perfect cup stands!), then I carried it into the bathroom and tipped the blood down the sink and gave the cup a good rinse.  So I actually found that a more convenient way to empty it.

All in all… I was very impressed with this cup.  It isn’t a cup I would have thought to buy if I was deciding on which cup to buy, since I must admit, it looked a bit weird and I wasn’t sure the anti-spill design was really needed.  But after trying it, I found it to be more comfortable than other cups, easy to remove, easy to clean and less likely to spill.  My only criticism would be the fact that I wasn’t able to tell if it was fully opened, but I think that would be something I would get used to the more I used the cup – whereas I unfortunately didn’t have enough time to spend getting used to the cups before writing this review.

.


See my detailed review & comparisons with other cups here.

February 13, 2015 - Posted by | photos, reviews | ,

15 Comments »

  1. Hi, I enjoy following your posts. This round design is definitely interesting and creates some interest! The material that its made from, I’m assuming that these ones don’t come in medical grade silicone? I live in Australia and the only one available to us here is the JuJu and our law (I think) requires them to be medical grade.
    Also, lately I’ve been having issues with something called a “cervical eversion” which creates more mucous than I need and it’s a bit uncomfortable (and I also have a uterine prolaspe after birthing). The doctor told me that using my menstrual cup might be assisting my issues because of the suction that my cup creates around the cervix, and the pulling motion of breaking the suction could be putting more pressure on my already sensitive cervix. How did you find the suction on this cup? Is there another cup you could maybe recommend for me? I would prefer medical grade silicone, and I also need to be able to cut the stem off and turn it inside out so there is no irritation (that’s how low my JuJu sits, sometimes it can be felt protruding), but if I can’t use a cup I’ll be stuffed each month because they save me with my heavy flow.

    Comment by Jen W | February 13, 2015

  2. They are made from Medical Grade silicone. A couple of the listings I have for the cups (and I checked the Femmycycle listing I have and that was one of them) I might not have specified “medical grade” on them. But this cup is medical grade….

    I’m in Australia too, and what the law actually is…. is that menstrual cups are considered “therapeutic goods” here and fall under the regulation of the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA). An individual can purchase a cup from anywhere in the world for their own personal use. However, only cups that are registered with the TGA are allowed to be sold within Australia. Currently the Diva, Juju, Keeper and Lunette are registered with the TGA and can be sold within Australia. Any other brand of cup you are definitely allowed to buy, but you have to order from overseas.

    As far as suction goes, I’m not sure. Normally I try to break the suction before pulling the cup down, but I didn’t with these. I’m unable to give you any recommendations for a cup, I’m sorry.

    It may be that a cup with larger holes may have less suction (in which case info on the holes of the cups I have seen, can be found on my comparisons page – https://menstrualcups.wordpress.com/2008/06/11/my-comparisons-and-ratings-cleaning). But honestly I don’t know enough about the role holes play in suction, as some people say the holes are there to stop the cup making too much suction, some say they are there to increase suction – so I don’t know.

    Comment by obsidian | February 13, 2015

  3. A wonder of a review 🙂 ..
    I would have two questions :

    – On the large regular model, the material of the bulbous body is a bit thicker/less squishy than the one of the Teen model ?

    – I tested the Teen cup. When you removed it, did you find the body was still all crushed inside, certainly almost flat, close to the way a Softcup Instead’s ‘sack’ sits ? (As it did for me..)
    Or with you, was it all rounded inside, after a few hours wearing it ?

    Comment by Quitterie | February 13, 2015

  4. To me, the teen and regular model feel the same amount of squishyness.

    I’m not quite sure what you mean by the body of the cup being crushed inside. When I removed it, it was the same shape as it is normally. I tried to flatten them to simulate what I think you had, but these cups won’t deviate from their bulb shape at all, as soon as I try to make it flatten, they pop back out.

    Comment by obsidian | February 14, 2015

  5. Thank you so much, Obsidian.

    So when you flattened it, it was with the cup being inside of you ?
    Last question : when you had just inserted the Teen or Regular cups, the bulbous part was immediately bulbous, not crushed at all ?

    Comment by Quitterie | February 14, 2015

  6. No I tried flattening it just holding it in my hand.

    When I was using the teen and regular sizes, the bulbous part seemed to be bulbous the whole time.

    Even if I pop up the anti-spill spout thing, there is no way I can make the cup stay flattened at all, it immediately pops back into shape.

    Comment by obsidian | February 15, 2015

  7. Hello!
    I have a really heavy flow and bought a large Fleurcup, which I like but sometimes leaks. Got the recomendation of Femmecycle, but I’ve read good and bad things, not pretty sure about it. What brand do you recomend for someone with a heavy flow? (for your idea on my firsts days I need to change the large fleurcup in max 4hours, and as I said, it leaks.
    Thank you very much for your attention and sorry for my english 😉

    Comment by Taís Leite | March 3, 2015

  8. I’m afraid I am not qualified to give recommendations or advice. I too have heard mixed things about the Femmycycle. I can only go by my own experiences with cups, and I haven’t had the chance to test this cup out much, but I didn’t have any major issues with it.

    I do have cup charts that show cups ranked by capacity, so that might help.

    Comment by obsidian | March 3, 2015

  9. Thank you 😉

    Comment by Taís Leite | March 4, 2015

  10. A stupid question… how do I know if I have low cervix?
    Can this be the cause of my leaking?

    Comment by Taís Leite | March 4, 2015

  11. If you can feel your cervix with your finger, then it’s probably low….. if you can’t, then it’s not? 🙂

    Comment by obsidian | March 12, 2015

  12. My comment is for Jen W. If you are experiencing irritation with your cup, turning it inside out, after taking the stem off, will definitely help. The Femmycycle cup cannot be turned inside out due to its design. However, it does not have any ridges for gripping so you won’t get the same irritation you do with the other cups. The stem on the Femmy is much more flexible and shaped like the letter “D” vs. a long stem. The Femmycycle has a low cervix model which sounds like it would be a good match for you as yours was felt slipping. Although, it could have done that due to weakened muscles. I will go into greater detail on that in a bit. As for your prolapse, you will want to try a firmer cup or a sports cup. the softer the cup the harder of a time your vagina has to “work” holding it in. With prolapse, depending on the grade, (there are 4) you may not be able to.

    Here are some cups you may want to try based on their firmness. They are rated based on a scale from 1 – 10 with 10 being the most firm. If anyone is looking for the complete list, I can paste it for you. These are the ones that are the most firm on the market and easier for women who have weaker muscle tone, prolapse, and other vaginal issues that prevent them from “holding” a softer one in place.

    The Keeper Moon cup – As mentioned above (large and small): 7.5

    Large Lunette: 8

    Yuuki (large/small): 8.5

    Mpower: 9

    Medium Original Meluna: 9.5

    Keeper: 10 (based on its thickness)

    Now, for your prolapse. If you don’t plan on having surgery any time soon – or even if you do – there is something that you can do to strengthen, and in some cases reverse, your prolapse.

    Lie on your back with your knees bent, feet flat on the floor. Put a pillow under your hips and butt. Raise them at an angle so that the slope of your hips will be higher at your knees and gradually get lower toward your stomach/chest. When in this position, practice doing Kegel exercises. Do 10 of them – holding for 10 seconds each with 10 second rests between each one. Try for three reps three times a day. The reason you want to do them on your back with your pelvic floor higher than your belly button is you want gravity to help you to pull everything up.

    Another good time to a Kegel is whenever you stand up or sit down. The only time this would not apply is when you use the bathroom. The reason for this is because you never want to associate the two with each other. If you do Kegels while urinating you can actually cause urinary incontinence.

    I hope some of this has helped you.

    Comment by Connie | August 15, 2015

  13. Dear Connie,
    Thanks so much for taking the time to pass on all that information. It is invaluable and has been very timely. I have started the exercises as you recommended, as often as I can manage, and have already noticed a slight change last time I used my JuJu. I will look into other firmer cups in the near future. The Doctors recommend surgery if the problems persist but only after I have finished having my family. Thanks so much for taking the time to respond to me, it is greatly appreciated!

    Comment by Jen W | September 9, 2015

  14. My brother is a Dr. And he said the design of this cup is better because of the design. The spill proof part is very helpful in preventing toxic shock in people that are more sensitive in that area then others. This is the only cup I have and I love it.

    Comment by lena | July 2, 2016

  15. “better” is subjective. Lots of cup users who have tried this cup would disagree that is it not “better” – but it all comes down to personal choice. What someone dislikes someone else may like.

    But what about the design supposedly makes it “better”?

    I’d like to know how the spill proof part is going to make a difference to TSS. So can you please explain what evidence there is to support this claim?

    Comment by obsidian | July 15, 2016


Leave a Reply

