Menstrual Cups

iCare

icare

Couldn’t find an official site for these, just being sold online at places like AliExpress

Country of origin: China
Composition: Silicone
Sizes:  “1” (small), “2” (large)
Dimensions: Size 1 = 40mm diameter, 78mm long including stem, 58mm without stem.  Size 2 = 45mm diameter,  85mm long with stem, 60mm long without stem.
Capacity: Both 15mls to airholes and 28mls to rim
Stem: Flat Tab?
Measuring Lines: yes
Cost (RRP): Anywhere from about $5 USD+
Been around since: 2012
Unique Design?: No (There are other cups with similar designs available)
Other Details: Comes in Clear, Blue, Purple, Pink, Orange, Red, Green, White, Yellow and clear.  One of the AliExpress site selling them, has information in the listing referencing the product being called “LadyCup” and with the url http://www.ladycup.cn (which doesn’t exist).

Several of the AliExpress listings  have “Rockbrook Industrial CO” watermarked all over it, but their website (http://rockbrook.en.ec21.com) no longer works, and didn’t mention the cups when it was working.  I did however find another website for them – www.hygiener.com  Where they have a ripoff of an Insteads Softcup as well as a menstrual cup with a flat wide stem.

icarecolours  icarecolours

Interestingly, most of the more recent listings/photos of the iCare cups look like they are trying to hide what the stem looks like, and one photo I have seen that does show the stem, has a shorter stem

icare2Shorter stem iCare

icare-nostem1 icare-nostem3 icare-nostem2 icarecolour

Can’t see the stem

July 17, 2014 - Posted by | The Cups | , ,

15 Comments »

  1. AliExpress now has a lot more colors available (red, yellow, green, orange, turquoise, etc). Due to the fact that I am looking for something EXTREMELY long this is one of my few options, and the red looked nice so I went ahead and ordered it. We’ll see what it looks like when it arrives! An Ebay seller had some of the new colors and photographed them herself, and the colors looked more saturated than those of the Rainbow.

    Comment by MC community member | November 27, 2014

  2. Update: I just got the red iCare that I ordered about a month ago–it’s 83mm from rim to stem and I have not found any other cup that can match that length, and as high as my cervix can be, my options were limited. It seems to be a very well constructed cup, no funky smell, very subtle seams that didn’t bother me. Slightly firmer than my Rainbow and Si-Bell but still very soft, with the stem softer than the body. I bought the red one off AliExpress because they had a number of other colors available and were running a sale over the Black Friday season–whole thing ended up being around $5 shipped. The color on mine is quite true to what is pictured–more of a pinky watermelon shade. Very pretty. (The Rainbow, on the other hand, was much lighter than pictured with the Photoshop coloring. But I like the design of that one when my cervix is lower. Anyway) The cup itself is also long like the Diva, so I wouldn’t recommend it as a “starter” unless the user already knows they have a high cervix. But until other companies realize that there’s a market for 80cm+ cups, there will still be a need for cups like the iCare.

    Comment by MC community member | January 7, 2015

  3. Did your iCare have the shorter or longer stem?

    Comment by obsidian | January 15, 2015

  4. I used Naturcup during three years but unfortunetly I lost it during a trip. Now I’m using ICare and works pretty good. I can recomend both menstrual cups.

    Comment by Erika | January 17, 2015

  5. @obsidian mine has the very long stem, which is what attracted me to it in the first place (though lately my cervix hasn’t ridden as high as usual so every time I’ve worn it I’ve been aware of the stem. if this persists I will trim a notch off it but I’m afraid to!)

    Comment by MC community member | January 23, 2015

  6. Is it alright to use this cup?

    Comment by Moe | May 18, 2015

  7. I cannot give recommendations on if a cup is ok to use or not.

    However I know some people have them and like them.

    Comment by obsidian | May 18, 2015

  8. @Moe it’s fine, just as good quality as any other cup I’ve tried, and one of your few options if you have a VERY high cervix and are not an expert at digging up there for removal. (Other brands should, perhaps, take note that an 83mm length with stem might have a market)

    @Obsidian found another iCare rebranding: http://www.amazon.com/LBB-Reusable-Menstrual-Cyan-Large/dp/B00VUJ7AVC/ref=sr_1_93?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1433037736&sr=1-93&keywords=menstrual+cup

    Comment by MC Community Member | May 31, 2015

  9. Hello. I want to try it, but since the brand doesn’t seem to be very well known I am concerned with the long term quality. Using poor quality silicone can be very detrimental for the body. Doen anyone know how to make sure it’s really medical grade silicone?

    Comment by Gisela | June 16, 2015

  10. how do I know if I have high cervix? never used a cup before…
    I want to buy this icare one from aliexpress because in my country national brands are very expansive and shipping is free in aliexpress…
    the seller i saw said that they are made of medical silicone and they seem to have several certificats including fda’s.

    Comment by natalia | July 8, 2015

  11. I don’t know I’m sorry, you might have to try googling to see what a high cervix would be classed as.

    But plenty of people use cups without having any idea if their cervix is high or not…. if you can’t feel it when inserting a finger, then you’re probably fine with any cup.

    Comment by obsidian | July 10, 2015

  12. I just got an i-care cup after accidentally throwing away my 3rd mooncup andnot wanting to spend another £18.
    So far I am not impressed. The tiny holes around the top weren’t all pierced properly, and there were bit of silicone ‘threads’ that I guess should have been properly removed before packaging.
    I’d also argue that there *was* quite a strong smell, compared to my mooncup, it smells like a silicone dildo (sorry, but best way to compare it!)
    My period showed up yesterday so I tried it for the first time and it is a lot more stiff than my moon cup, so much so that it doesn’t appear to be unfolding inside of me. My period has started unusually light so I can’t yet comment on its effectiveness.

    Comment by Klare | January 9, 2016

  13. Can someone who has used the large size iCare confirm the capacity to airholes and rim?

    Comment by Cheryl | March 19, 2016

  14. how can i know if this product is safe. that’s what i care about, the stem isnt really an issue for me, but knowing that there are no chemicals and junk in the makeup of this cup is what i’d lilke to know. is there anywhere online that provides that info?

    Comment by Jessiebey | March 23, 2016

  15. I ordered the iCare cup last month to try and I really like it. The official website is http://www.icare-menstrual-cup.com/ . I ordered mine from Aliexpress here: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/MC03-Wholesale-Reusable-Medical-Grade-Silicone-Menstrual-Cup-Feminine-Hygiene-Product-Lady-Menstruation-Copo/2048698686.html since it had great reviews and customer pictures . Mine had no smell and the holes are small but not tiny, no problem with suction. I find the cup to be on the soft side but not in a bad way. I would recommend it to others. Both the official website and aliexpress say it is made from medical grade silicone so that would make it safe to use.

    Comment by Kim | March 31, 2016


Leave a Reply

