Menstrual Cups

Lunette’s new purple cup – not so purple?

I, like many others, am still waiting to receive the free Cynthia I won from their facebook picture tagging competition, so I still haven’t seen one in person, but the new photos of it are out, and I must say I’m disappointed that it’s not actually purple.

I’m not sure what colour you’d call it… it’s more a wine sort of colour…  Given how many people pick their cups based on colour, I hope nobody gets disappointed buying one expecting it to be “purple”, when it’s not.

Not saying that the colour is unattractive…. it’s not appealing to me, but I’m sure it’s appealing to someone, but I know that being the absolute purple fan I am… (and being a fan of the Lunette) I was **really** looking forward to this cup being a lovely purple, more like the Lady Cup… but instead it seems to be a dusty pinkish-red 😦

I also wish they had called it Artemis instead of Cynthia… Supposedly it was because they thought Cynthia would be easier to pronounce… but the orange cup, Aine, I’d think is much harder to pronounce, if you’re not familiar with the language… many of us have no idea how you pronounce that!  I asked hubby, who is a linguist, and it took him 5 mins and he *thinks* it’s sort of “ah-nuh”…. whereas a layman like me, looking at it, I’d have said “ay-n”… so there you go lol

But back to colour…. So if you’re thinking about buying a Cynthia, just be aware that it is *not* what most people would consider to be purple.

 assorted cups

Clear, Green (Diana), Blue (Selene), “purple” (Cynthia), Orange (Aine) – Photo from www.afriska.ch

coloured_cynthiaold As it’s difficult to tell colours on a computer screen, due to lots of variables, probably the best comparison picture is something like this – courtesy of Feminine Wear’s Flickr page.  It shows pink and purple cups, so you can get an idea of what the colour is like.

Pink MeLuna, Pink Fleurcup, “purple” Lunette, Miacup, Lilac Ladycup, Purple MeLuna  – Photo from www.femininewear.co.uk

June 10, 2011 - Posted by | news |

3 Comments »

  1. I like that purple better than most I’ve seen on cups. I also wouldn’t call it purple… but I’m not a big purple fan. If I liked colored cups, I’d probably actually buy this one, and I wouldn’t buy any of the other purples I’ve seen. But I prefer clear cups anyways so it’s a moot point really.

    Comment by Lauren | June 10, 2011

  2. Your hb got the pronunciation right – Aine is Irish Gaelic, which is always a weird language when you try to figure out how to say things if you just see the spelling. Funny to see a Finnish company using this as a name for their cups (I have one, actually)

    Comment by Ailish | August 21, 2011

  3. Hey Obsi, have you seen that the CupLee now is available in 7 colours (!) plus the clear one..
    And.. cherry on the pie lol, the purple looks like a “real purple” = http://www.cuplee.ru
    xx

    Comment by Quitterie | June 8, 2013


Leave a Reply

