Menstrual Cups

New Femmecup pictures

My new Femmecup arrived yesterday – woo!

The bag is a white cotton, a little stiff (though still easy to close, so nowhere near as stiff as the denim MPower bag) .. it feels kinda starchy, so I think it will soften when washed for the first time (as fabric tends to do)

The cup is crystal clear, very flexible, and looks quite different to the old cup.  I like the new look!  And I like that they kept the spiral, which starts at the base of the cup and goes up the stem…

The stem…. is now different!  It’s a solid, thin tube…about 4mm wide, and a lot shorter than the previous tube stem.  Which IMHO will make it a lot more comfortable than the tube stems (I’m really not a fan of tube stems)

The airholes are quite large, so there should be no problem with cleaning.  Interestingly, there is no branding on the cup now.  The  old cup had the website in raised letters on the inside as well as measuring lines and amounts on the inside.  This has just the measuring lines (and amounts)

I love the feel of the new silicone.  The old silicone was a very “plastic” feeling one…  This one is completely different, and IMHO nicer.  The rim is stiffer than the bottom, as you’d expect, so it feels sturdy at the rim, but the base is really flexible (not in a bad way, just an observation).  I’d say overall its the most “squishy”/flexible of all the cups I have.  The original Femmecup was pretty soft/flexible/squishy anyway, but this is slightly moreso


See my detailed review & comparisons with other cups here.

March 9, 2011 - Posted by | news, The Cups | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hey thanks for this post. Just wondering, given that the silicone is quite soft, did you find the new femmecup opens easily? Would it be suitable for someone who has never used a menstrual cup before?
    Thanks

    Comment by Lucy | January 8, 2012

  2. I’d think a softer cup would be easier for someone who was new cups to use… yes, they won’t pop open as easily, but they are easier to handle. I didn’t have any issues getting it to open up for memory. I much prefer the newer one to the older one.

    Comment by obsidian | February 14, 2012

  3. It’s been 4 years now since I started using this cup. It was my very first cup. But now it became a bit opaque after having it soaked in hot water. I guess it’s time to replace it. Does anyone have the same issue in maintaining this cup?

    Comment by بدرية (@alice9ft) | February 6, 2016


Leave a Reply

