Menstrual Cups

Fleurcup – Review

I asked Fleurcup twice for a cup for me to review here.  Both times they refused.  But luckily I was given one  (I’ll have to ask if my source wishes to be named or not lol) so I can review it!

Firstly… pictures!

I have the pouchless version (you can buy them with or without one – an interesting idea, and great to have that choice).  It came in a “ziplock” bag, with an instruction sheet.  No pictures of how to do the folds (they would have fit alongside the diagram of the cup I’m sure), but a decent amount of information there, with a link to their site and an e-mail address…

The cup itself is a pretty frosted purple.  Very light purple. It’s more frosted than the LadyCup cups… probably about as frosted as Lunette, but it’s hard to tell since I don’t have a coloured Lunette to compare it to.

The ridges on the bottom of the cup are quite pronounced, and I think the fact they are broken probably adds to the grippyness.  The ridges on the stem are probably ever-so-slightly more pronounced than the other cups, as this feels the most grippy of any of the cups I’d felt.  I think it’s actually a very attractive looking cup.  The colour it appears here isn’t very true to colour…the packaged one is closer to the true shade.

The holes are large and drilled on an angle… and I notice they have 2 at the front and 2 at the back, and are angled to the outer edges… (eg the left hand hole angles to the left, the right side hole angles to the right)

As luck would have it, my period arrived when the cup did, so I was able to try it out straight away 😀  It’s about as flexible as the Yuuki or Diva (though I have an older style).  I had no trouble folding it or inserting it, and I had no leaks. As with the other tab-stem cups, I can’t feel this at all while it’s in, and as I like to be able to pull the cup down with the stem, I do find a stem to be useful to have.  As there are no markings anywhere on the cup, it was very easy to clean, and while I was at first concerned with the fact the holes are angled (meaning they are longer, so could get clogged more easily), they rinsed clean without even needing to squeeze the water through.

So, all in all (other than the fact the cup company refused to send me one), I’m pretty impressed with this cup. It has the flat tab stem I like, it has no protruding ridge, so insertion and removal are a little easier/more comfortable than the ridged cups.  I think this might now be my favourite cup! (though I’d have to have a few more goes with it to say for sure)

Being a purple lover, I’d ideally like the colour to be stronger, it really is only slight hint of colour, but given that the Lunette had been my favourite cup and it’s doesn’t come in purple, having a slight amount of purple is definitely better than no purple at all 😀


See my detailed review & comparisons with other cups here.

August 7, 2010 - Posted by | The Cups | ,

13 Comments »

  1. Hi! I just wrote a post about menstrual cups on my blog yesterday, but I’ve only tried the Diva Cup. I’ve never even heard of the Fleurcup, but it sounds like it might be better… maybe I’ll try it in a few months (still getting used to the Diva). I had been looking at the Lunette, too, but a lot of people seem to think that it’s stiffer and therefore harder to insert and has more suction, making it harder to remove.

    I’m going to add a link to your blog to my menstrual cup post, because I love that there’s a site comparing them all. I’ve been reading random reviews all over the internet for days, but it’s great to have all the info in one place.

    OH! And did you know that some of the sites you’re linking have affiliate programs? Or that you can find most of them on Amazon, which also has an affiliate program? I don’t know if you’re interested in making money from blogging, but it’s an awesome way to make some extra cash so long as you stay honest.

    Comment by Lauren | August 7, 2010

  2. Obsidian, you told your large Lunette could fill up past the holes, and even past the brim ;-D..

    I wonder : Did you have the same experience with the large Fleurcup on heavy days ??

    And if so, when you removed the cup, most time were the holes blocked with blood ?
    (Also wonder if with some cups, the fact the holes get blocked _ while inserting a well rinsed cup, and after the seal has been achieved 😉 _ so, if this can allow these cups to fill even more.)

    Comment by Quitterie | August 26, 2010

  3. Oh did you experience it too with the small F&L M enstrual cups ? 😉

    Comment by Quitterie | August 26, 2010

  4. Now I’m on the pill (to deal with PCOS hormone issues) my periods have gone from extremely heavy to reasonably light (might be “normal” for “normal” women, but very light in comparison to what it was before – given I could overflow a large cup 3 times on my heaviest day!), so I’m not able to give the cups as much of a thorough test as I was able to before…. so no, I haven’t had a chance to let it fill up anywhere near the holes yet (though I’ve only tested it once, and not on a heavy day)…

    Yes, most of the cups holes get blocked for me (which is why I have issues with tiny holes like the Diva)… maybe that does help let them fill up past the rim, not sure…

    I am also mostly using the large cups, and I’m just past 30, had a caesarian birth and have been doing my kegals for many years, so that could all have something to do with it too… perhaps it just creates enough of a seal that overflowing isn’t a problem

    Comment by obsidian | August 26, 2010

  5. Thank you :)) !

    Oh yeah.. the Diva’s previous holes, tiny and long-really slantwise, were *very* annoying. Now that they are just a bit bigger (maybe like the Mooncup’s ones), and above all, now that they are right, they get clean normally ehh.. Cool.
    Plus the actual round stepped part below the first rim feels nice !

    I too usually prefer the large cups for they feel a bit more comfortable to wear ah, less short in particular — and since the beginning, when I started using the cups at 23 years old. For about 2 years, I also do Kegels ;-), and turned 28 (and never was pregnant yet)…

    Thanks a lot lot for all your demanding cuppa work ;-D

    Comment by Quitterie | August 26, 2010

  6. Hi there!

    Thanks to your recommendations, I ordered a Fleurcup from femininewear.co.uk. It arrived (in the U.S.) in a week flat from the U.K. despite any mail delays that might have been caused by the holiday weekend. It came with Smarties-type candies and a pen. It was a little strange being able to squish the cup from outside the plastic packaging, but it did seem securely packaged (with another plastic bag inside.) I got the orange, which if anything is even paler/more frosted than shown on the website.

    My question had to do with boiling the cup to sanitize it. (I never did this with my Keeper or my Keeper Moon Cup; I’d use either a weak bleach solution or a vinegar/water solution between periods. I gather I probably shouldn’t have used bleach on the silicone, but I got in the habit with the rubber Keeper.) The directions say put the Fleurcup in boiling water for 3-5 minutes, but elsewhere I’ve seen 10 or 20 minutes boiling recommended. What’s the deal?

    Also, do you need to push the cup down with a utensil to get it all in the boiling water? (I understand it should not touch the bottom of the pot.)

    Thanks in advance — and thanks for your size charts and reviews, it made it easier (well — possible) for me to make an informed decision about a new cup.

    — Millie

    Comment by Millie | September 9, 2010

  7. Great review! I find that especially in a punch-down fold, the Fleurcup goes in quite nicely.

    Comment by menstrualcupinfo | September 12, 2010

  8. Thanks so much for your blog! I got a DivaCup a year ago, and I’m very happy with it compared to using tampons, but there are aspects of it that I find uncomfortable and inconvenient. I thought these were true of menstrual cups in general, but your website really helped me comparison shop! I’ve decided to try out the FleurCup based on your review and comparison chart.. I’ll let you know how I like it!

    Comment by L | January 4, 2011

  9. Thanks for taking the time to give a review. I’ve just ordered this cup.

    Comment by Sonya | April 30, 2011

  10. Thanks for the great review. I ordered the Fleurcup off of the official website. I couldn’t decide what size to get so I bought a pack that had one of each. I’ve been using the small and love it! This is only my first day using it but I had no problems getting it in or out. Never used a cup before now. No leaks overnight but I wore a pantyliner during the day just in case. I did a zumba workout too with no leaks. I feel like I stay a lot cleaner vs tampons. Love it!

    Comment by Helen | January 26, 2012

  11. I almost cry every time i read these awesome reviews about the Fleurcup. If i had the chance to get only one, it would probably be this one, but being the rushy-pants that I am, i went for the one that was easier to get- and cutest pouch, before looking further into different cups 😥 and it hasnt even arrived yet, but judging by the picture, i would say it is similar to this one :p its so annoying to be a perfectionist!

    Comment by Marisela | September 2, 2012

  12. Thank you so much for your posts on the cups. after seeing you thoughts and seeing other people posts what they think about this brand, I bought myself one! The price was great and while the website did look sketchy, I was excited to order it. I just put it in for the first time, and it was so easy and simple, and I dont feel it. So great not to have that dried out feeling from tampons. Now I just got to see what it is like to empty it. haha. I love my small Fleurcup so far (I’m in my 20s, have had sex, no babies, have a sensitive bladder, and I do have heavy flows)

    Comment by Lin | January 3, 2013

  13. oh BTW I got clear because it’s cheap and I dont care what color it is, haha. I dont get the whole color thing myself, but maybe after a few years when it has yellowed maybe I will, haha.

    Comment by Lin | January 3, 2013


Leave a Reply

