Menstrual Cups

Yuuki – My Thoughts

yuukicup3 yuukicup1

It comes in a tube!

With instruction sheet.  I actually like the tube idea… it’s different and protects the cup from being squashed.  Though the packaging makes me think of a sports supplement or something 🙂

yuukicup2

The stem is about the same width as the tube stems of other brands of cup, but it is solid.  Because the silicone is softer than that of the Mooncup UK or Diva, the stem is more flexible, but not quite as flexible as the thinner tab stems of the Lunette or Miacup.  Which means if you like the tube stems but don’t like that they can collect blood inside them, then this stem would be great.

(Update – they have now changed to a hollow tube stem)

yuukicup4(The cup got a bit of fluff on it, so that’s what the speckles are on the rim, I didn’t realise it would show up 🙂  I need to take another photo)

The measuring lines and name are on the inside of the cup. Along with a number “1”.    There is another line on the inside, where the ridge on other cups pokes out… not sure what that is for…  The holes are on an angle, like the Diva’s holes

I like this cup… not sure why, since it doesn’t have anything that immediately jumps out as being innovative or special… and it has features I don’t particularly like (such as the angular holes and thicker stem)….but I like the degree of flexibility of the silicone, and the lack of ridge around the rim – it feels nice.

Testing it out

I was able to feel the stem for a while… because it is solid, and has lines on it for grip, I was able to feel it while wearing it.  After about 15 mins I was not able to feel it any more (I got used to it I suppose), and I think it pokes less than the hollow tube stems.  Probably because the Yuuki stem has a rounded tip, while the hollow ones have a flat tip (so more pokey).  I found it opened up easily, although they sent me the smaller size.  I had no leaks.

Gear – It came in a tube 🙂 which was different.  It had an instruction sheet, but no pouch.  I don’t know if they normally ship them with a pouch or not, since mine was a freebie.  To be honest, not having a pouch probably wouldn’t make a difference to me, since a lot of people buy a replacement pouch elsewhere anyway (I used the Lunette pouch that came with my first cup for about a week then made my own because I hated it)

Personal Observations – I haven’t had much to do with the company – I e-mailed them to ask some questions and they replied pretty quickly.

Ratings

I’ve rated all the cups I’ve tried. They can be found here: https://menstrualcups.wordpress.com/2008/06/11/my-comparisons-and-ratings

July 24, 2009 - Posted by | reviews | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

