Menstrual Cups

Diva Cup – My Thoughts

Its a small size – “1”, as that’s what they sent…. feels no different when worn to the large Lunette – apart from the stem, which I left intact and it does poke…. I got used to it after about an hour – as it wasn’t exactly uncomfortable, but not exactly comfortable… When I got used to it I didn’t seem to feel it when walking around, but could feel it when sitting if I thought about it (if that makes sense). Slightly easier to bend into the C fold than the Lunette (it takes less pressure to keep it folded). I had some issues getting it to pop open properly, that I first figured was just a random thing that occasionally happens with the Lunette too, but it did it the second time I tried too… The end of the stem was a little higher up than the Lunette – as the Lunette is overall a touch longer when the stem is not cut. I actually don’t like the short little stem of the Diva – I like to be able to hold the stem to pull the cup down…. so it felt like it was disappearing up there. I might have had a bit of leaking – hard to tell because there is a hole punched in the cup (not sure if it was leaking because the cup wasn’t sitting right or fitting properly or because of a hole punched in it) but the hole is up high near the rim and it wasn’t filled to there yet. The hole probably effected suction, though the small Mooncup UK didn’t leak.

The Diva has an extra part of the rim, and the blood collected under that rim bit and was harder to clean off than the Lunette, it took more than just a vague wipe that I can do for the Lunette. Also the holes took a *lot* of effort to clean. They are tiny and on an angle, so they are long… The filling it with water – hand over the cup and squeezing to squirt water out the holes didn’t work well (I had the punched hole covered, and had the necessary suction, I think the holes are just too small for the water to squirt out properly). I had to use a pin to clean them out. That would annoy me massively. And both test runs I did of the Diva I had the same problem.. though I spent a lot of time trying to squirt and rinse, I managed to get all but 2 holes cleared… but still needed the pin. I was thinking the flat base of the inside would be easier to clean than the non-flat Lunette, but since the flat bottom has writing on it that collects the blood in it, it takes as much effort if not more to clean as the Lunette’s curved inside. Plus as it’s longer and narrower, it was just that little bit harder to get to the bottom of the cup to clean it. I also managed to get some blood inside the hollow stem, which did rinse out ok, but doesn’t happen with the Lunette… and I imagine if it was to dry in there (I hadn’t worn the cup as long as I’d wear the Lunette) it would be harder to remove.

Gear – they apparently include a pouch and pin/brooch with the cup when you buy it, which sounds cool. They didn’t send a pouch or anything with mine. Just the cup (with a purple ball chain through the hole – almost like it was a keyring LOL which I removed and then lost) and the flyers I’d asked for.

Personal observations – I haven’t had all that much correspondence with Diva, I asked for a sample, and I believe I got a prompt e-mail back saying yes… (it was before I wrote this page, so I wasn’t paying enough attention). I get a bit sick of seeing most people buy a Diva because it’s cheaper

Ratings

I’ve rated all the cups I’ve tried. They can be found here: https://menstrualcups.wordpress.com/2008/06/11/my-comparisons-and-ratings

June 25, 2008 - Posted by | comparisons | ,

3 Comments »

  1. The Diva is very soft and cute to use, I love it being to easy to catch and the stem being so short… It’s ideal for women with heavy flow. Unfortunately it’s harder to clean than my lunette and my ladycup… But there’s no way it’s not good, and in France (where I live) it’s the easiest to find in shops ! (biocoop)

    Comment by Laura | February 15, 2009

  2. How I clean the holes in my diva cup is wash it out at the sink, and then squish it in half and rub it in my hands, so it rolls while squished flat. I hope that makes sense. I’ve been doing this with the same cup for a few years, and with the cup I had for a few years before then (before the exhusband threw it away accidently).

    Comment by Eliza | May 19, 2010

  3. I have had a Divacup for about 6 years now. I stopped using it for a while due to lack of periods (I was on continuous birth control to prevent ovarian cysts). Now that I’ve started to have periods more regularly, I’ve gotten the old girl out. I noticed that I’ve become more sensitive to the large rim – it can be painful using it (usually during removal – I have to punch fold it to get it out without much pain, but I’m a bit sore upon reinsertion). Mine is getting a bit worn and deteriorating a bit, so I’m looking at buying a new brand. One that is a bit smaller and squishier. I’m torn between a Fleurcup small and a Meluna soft medium. I’m 24 and have never been pregnant.

    Comment by BK | January 22, 2012


Leave a Reply

