Menstrual Cups

Lily Cup

http://www.intimina.com/en/lily_cup_pd.php

Country of origin: Unsure  (It is produced by a company called Intima or LELO Inc, whose head quarters are in the US)
Composition: Silicone
Sizes: 2.  “A” and “B”
Dimensions:  A = 40mm diameter, 77mm long.  B = 42.5mm diameter, 82mm long.
Capacity:  A = 20ml, B = 25ml
Stem: tube?
Measuring Lines: Unknown (no?)
Cost (RRP):  A$39.95
Guarantee: ?
Been around since: 2012?
Other Details: Claims to be the only cup that can fold as thin as a tampon for insertion, and has a spine to help insertion.  Has an anti-leak edge around the inside rim of the cup.   Opaque pink colour – light pink for size A, and dark pink for size B.

November 6, 2012 - Posted by | The Cups |

11 Comments »

  1. Lelo products are actually from Sweden, though the do quite a lot of business here in the states. :)

    Comment by Rin | November 8, 2012

  2. Have just ordered it to have a look.
    The cups are of a relatively small capacity, although they seem to be fairly big (?). Nothing to use during heavier days, I guess, and probably a bit tricky to clean.

    Intimina seems to be part of a large international company with mainly sex toys, and with a presence and possibly production (?) in Asia: http://www.intimina.com/en/Who-We-Are.php

    Comment by Annelie Svensson | November 11, 2012

  3. *ahem* I hereby nominate you for the Sunshine Award! Please consult this page for more [http://runesandrhinestones.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/sunshine-award-time-to-procrastinate/]

    Thanks for all this wonderful information, it has really helped me choose a cup that’s right for me!

    Comment by emmamulligan | November 29, 2012

  4. Hi Annelie,
    Have you tried the Lily Intimia cup already? Could please share your experience? Is it any different from the cup you used before? I think may of us here will highly appreciate your response.

    Comment by Anna | December 15, 2012

  5. I can’t seem to purchase it in US. What a bummer. I really wanted to try it.

    Comment by S | January 10, 2013

  6. Does anyone know where to get them in US?

    Comment by Sabina | January 16, 2013

  7. This is the first cup (size A) I bought, mainly because it looks so nice. And it really does, everything about the package and cup is very smooth.
    I tried it a few times now, but I seriously start wondering if there is something wrong with the “internal” me.
    When buying a cup, you need to spend time thinking about the size and shape of a body part, which doesn’t get a lot of attention in my head size wise.
    So I followed the instructions and bought the little one, because I am childless 32 year old.
    After some dry practicing, I think I understand the trick (although I do have some troubles with it folding open, but that seems to solve it self after a while).
    But the problem is that I can feel the stem after a while, so either I wonder if I am too shallow, too weak or, too large.
    I have no idea how I can find that out :/
    Because I do like the idea a lot of a cup and I would like buy a new one, but they are pretty expensive and I didn’t find cups with a trial period in The Netherlands.
    Any advice is welcome.

    Comment by Confuzzled&embarrassed | April 30, 2013

  8. I’m afraid I can’t really give any advice – this blog is for giving information about the cups and my personal experience.

    Some people are more aware of or bothered by the stems than other people are – which is why some people cut theirs off or trim them down.

    Comment by obsidian | May 14, 2013

  9. This one looks like it might work for me! I have the juju and fleurcup cup but get so much leakage with both… However, I am determined to keep looking. Neither of the cups I have tried can open fully inside of me, i.e. when I feel inside they are still somewhat folded and there isn’t room for them to be open. Have you tried this new cup? It looks like it might work….

    Comment by Nadiarr | August 9, 2013

  10. This is my first cup and it is really easy to get it in. To get it out however not so much! Twice it went pretty okay, but the 3th time really hurt as i could not manage to break the vaccum. I also feel the stem quiet a lot. But I used to feel the tampons as well and i hated to get them out too, so maybe this is just me. Not sure yet, if it is 100% no spill. I have a very light flow, so the cup is not full at all, but the toilet paper gets a little bit of a red hue, when I whipe. But again i often had this with tampons as well… Any ideas?

    By the way I am not sure, I like the company. In my box there was a sample of a feminie wash, whith a very harsh detergent and it is supposed to prevent smell. Please do not tell me my vagina smells bad and needs this harmfull chemical to stay clean! Luckely I am too informed about such topics!

    Comment by Lisa | April 8, 2014

  11. Reply to “Sabina | January 16, 2013″

    I doubt that there’s anything “wrong” with you. What people don’t seem to realise is that the variety between women’s bodies can be huge, and this is reflected in the range of different menstrual cups available. Before buying a cup, you really need to work out how far in your cervix is (bear in mind that it can change throughout the month). This measurement is not determined purely by your age and whether or not you have given birth; the guidelines that many menstrual cup companies give about size in relation to age etc. is just that – a guideline. You should also consider what resistance (firmness) you need from the cup. I post a link to a very helpful video that explains what you need to know about your own body before you buy a menstrual cup. (This channel also has plenty of reviews and useful advice about a variety of reusable menstrual products.) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_G87oBd6rOw

    By the looks of things, this cup is rather long, even in the small size. I really like the look of the design and want to give the Intima Lily cup a try, but at 77 mm long, it would probably not suit my body shape. That’s not because of any physiological problems – that’s just the way my body is.

    Hope that helps! :-)

    Comment by R.J. Thomes | August 7, 2014


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers