Menstrual Cups

Menstrual Cup book

There is a (very pricey) book about menstrual cups on the market.  It’s description claiming “Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online.”  Which is causing some concern among people like myself who run websites where this information may be taken from.

You have to ask yourself, why would you pay upwards of $50 (I’ve seen it for sale on Australian sites for over $100) for a book whose contents were taken from wikipedia and other webpages?….  I look at the part of the cover, where it says High quality content from wikipedia articles” and just laugh.  That’s some “high quality” authoring there… (and what’s with the feet photo and superfluous tag words on the front cover?)

The news of this book, and potential copyright theft has caused one cup resource, the “cup charts” Livejournal site to close down, stating that they don’t want their hard work to be stolen for someone else’s profit.  In case you’re not aware, website contents, like books, are considered copyrighted to the person who wrote them.  This is automatic copyright, not something the author needs to specifically apply.  Copying parts of a website, or someone’s images, without their permission, is a breech of copyright.  So we’re concerned that the “free sources online” may be our webpages and blogs, which are not actually free to take stuff from.

We don’t know yet if any of our intellectual property has been stolen,  and without looking at the book, there’s probably no way to tell. I’ve contacted the publisher, and I’ve purchased a copy of the book, which I’ll be able to review when it arrives (which will take a few weeks, as it’s coming from overseas). It will be interesting to see what fills the 96 pages of this book!  and if it’s worth paying such a huge price for information they gathered (stole?) from the internet.

(If you need me, I’ll be printing off 96 pages from wikipedia, binding them into a “high quality” book and selling them for the bargain price of $50 per edition.  Buy now for Christmas!)

November 17, 2011 - Posted by | news

5 Comments »

  1. Makes me wonder if they’ve asked anyone before using their work. Everything they’re using is copyrighted, even the wikipedia articles. Something’s copyrighted as soon as it’s created – it’s just harder to prove if you don’t register the copyright. So that pricey book could be breaking the law, besides being a waste of money if all the info in it is free.

    Comment by Lauren | November 17, 2011

  2. It makes me wonder if any of my work has made it into the book – I’d normally say that it’s unlikely, but then it’s happened to me because and at 96 pages they must have really raked online resources to get filler – I can’t afford to buy the book, so I’m eagerly watching this to see what happens. Good luck.

    Comment by Jay | November 17, 2011

  3. Apparently it is ok to copy wikipedia articles, even for commercial use, so long as you don’t put a restriction on people copying your copy, and give attribution. Because by writing something on wikipedia, you are agreeing that your words are available for reproduction under that creative commons agreement.

    Eg I could print off all the pages from Wikipedia and bind them into a book and sell it…. but I cant put a blurb at the front of the book saying that it’s copyrighted and can’t be reproduced. Since I’d have taken the work under a creative commons agreement, I have to then allow people to freely copy it also.

    If anyone is interested in seeing if their content is in the book – link me to your stuff and I’ll see if it’s in the book. I’ll also be looking at stuff from the official cup sites, and I’ll inform them if any photos or descriptions are stolen.

    Comment by obsidian | November 17, 2011

  4. Hi Obsidian :)
    I just added the link to another doubtful book (?), on the relative topic on LJ.. :-s

    Comment by Quitterie | November 20, 2011

  5. Hmm… yes, I’ve had to buy that too *sigh*

    Comment by obsidian | November 21, 2011


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers