Menstrual Cups

JuJu photos and thoughts

I got my JuJu cup in the mail today – but I was surprised by not one, but 2!!!

The packaging, is gorgeous!

Which opens up like a flower

With your cup in the centre!

Inside the bottom is a leaflet on how to use the cup, a discount coupon and the cup of course.  The inside of the box has information on the meaning of the name JuJu and some facts about using cups. I like that the company is Australian and has carbon neutral packaging.  No plastics!  it was shipped in that cute giftbox thing, inside a similar sized white box for shipping.

The pouch is satin and double layer – pink on the inside.  The green pouch has light green inside and the dark blue pouch has a silvery light blue inside.

The only downside of a double thickness pouch though is that the cups are a bit sticky with the satin, so pulling out the cup has a habit of pulling the satin lining out – so you have to poke it back in.  It’s not a major problem though (you could sew a tiny dot to make both layers stick together if you wanted).  The double layer satin feels thicker and nicer than single layer though I think.

The cup itself.

Smooth outside.  The bottom has a butterfly design as the grip.  The inside has “JuJu” in ever so slightly indented writing, and the size on the other side (a small “2” for the large cup).  The holes are nice and large.

The stem is a very flexible stalk (don’t know what to call it lol) and it’s actually not round, it’s a rounded-triangular shape – so it’s got straight sides to grip!

Squishyness seems to be able the same as a large Ladycup (though I haven’t compared it to other cups yet)… it is softer than Lunette.  The silicone feels nice, and it’s quite clear (clearer than it looks in the above photo)

The large and small sizes

Quite a big difference in the 2 sizes

A photo trying to show the smoothed triangle the stem is

it’s hard to see… but if you look closely you can see it’s a rounded-off triangle

…Update…

I gave it a “dry run” so to speak.  I’ll be able to test it fully when I get my period next (next week).. but here are my thoughts based on the dry run:

Firstly…  It was nice and comfortable and easy to insert.  I like cups whose outsides are smooth and don’t have the bumpy ridge part (like a Mooncup, keeper, Miacup have) When it was in I couldn’t feel it, and I couldn’t feel the stem.  So I was very pleased with insertion and comfort.

With the larger size I had a minor problem with getting it to open up, as I occasionally do with all the larger cups,  particularly the softer ones (I just need to press against the vaginal wall to give space for the cup to open).  The smaller size opened up perfectly fine, no problem at all.

The problem for me however was removal for the larger cup.

Now, I’ll preface this by saying I’m not the most nimble of people, I have short fingers and long nails… Not really a good combination :) I normally need to grab the cup by the stem to pull it down far enough that I can reach up to the rim to break the seal… and then I use the stem and base of the cup to pull it down enough to get it out.

The large cup had very strong suction, and mixed with that, I wasn’t able to get a good enough grip on the stem to pull it down to be able to reach the rim.. It actually took me a while to get it out.  I had to “bear down” a lot to bring the cup down and I had to basically use the pressure of squeezing the base of the cup against itself, to get the grip needed to pull it out.  If I was a first time cup user, I’d have been frightened I’d never get it out :)  But luckily I know better hah!  The only other cup to give me trouble like this was the old style MeLuna cups.

The smaller cup was slightly harder to remove than other cups I’ve tried – again because it was slippery, but with the lower suction, I was able to pull it down and break the seal to remove it.  So it was MUCH easier to remove than the large one.

Because the butterfly grips on the base of the cup aren’t as raised as the grip lines on most other cups, I found the base very slippery. Because of my nails I can’t use the tips of my fingers to grab it, I am sure it would be easier if fingernails weren’t a problem.  The triangular stem feels nice and grippy when the cup is dry, but once it’s wet (and vaginal secretions are slippery), there is no resistance at all, so I found my fingers slid right down.  I double checked the Femmecup stem (which is a shorter thin stick), and it has grip lines going down the stem.  I personally think this is needed on the JuJu stem for added grip (and the butterfly pattern raised more, for added grip)

I tried it twice, both with the same result.  I then tried a Lunette (just for reference, because I thought maybe it was something strange about my vagina for today), but with the extra grip of the lines on the base and stem of the Lunette, it came out easily.  I was just this cup that had problems :(

I really wanted to love this cup more than any other (clear) one… but the trouble removing the large cup did disappoint me.

I was able to wear the small cup during my period with no leaks.  Using toilet paper to grab the stem did give me better grip, so I would be fine using the small cup, however given the choice between cups, I probably wouldn’t choose a cup with a slippery stem.

I know there are a lot of women out there who cut the stems off cups altogether and even turn the cups inside out so there are no grip lines – and have no trouble removing the cup, so as I said, I’ve got long nails and short fingers and some of the trouble I have is probably just me.  Someone else might not have any grip issues – it will be interesting to hear other people’s thoughts when they have tried it… but for me, it’s the only issue in an otherwise lovely cup.

August 5, 2011 - Posted by | The Cups | ,

12 Comments »

  1. What a great nice review! :D Ahh i’m fairly disappointed for you, about the trouble you had removing the large cup :-s…. But it seems to be a cup of an high quality, and from Australia.. yay yay! ^-^ hi

    The stem looks clever indeed, but hum yep it must be kind of slippery, when the cup in inside the vagina. Well, i’m part of the women who haven’t a long vagina and who cut off the stem completely ;), and i would loooove to test a JuJu with a neat smooth stem-free bottom, lol.

    By the way, is the small cup slightly firmer than the large one ? (kinda similarly to the LadyCup models, in particular) :)

    Oh i’d have a second question.. when you precise that “It’s got a very low profile ridge around the top (unlike some cups whose ridge is lower and more pronounced), so it should be comfortable to insert/remove.” — sorry am not sure i understand what you mean, and it sounds interesting… do you mean there’s a ridge right below the ‘second’ rim ?^^
    Thank you so much, Obsidian !

    Comment by Quitterie | August 5, 2011

  2. Yep, well for those women who cut the stems off and/or wear them inside out, I imagine there is no slipperiness issue – though I don’t know if this cup has more suction than other cups (making it a bit harder to remove anyway) it’s hard for me to tell.

    I don’t know if I have a “short” vagina or not lol, but my issue with the tube stems is that if I leave them fully intact, the stem is right against the vaginal opening, and that’s *REALLY* uncomfortable. But the tab stems and ones like this, are so thin and flexible that they don’t poke into me, even if they are also very close to the opening. So I can leave them intact and use them for grip, because they are more comfortable and I can’t feel them. So this one is even less noticeable than a tab stem, so you might find you can leave the stem on and not feel it.

    I’ve done a new post on defining what I mean by the “ridge” – hope that helps.

    Comment by obsidian | August 6, 2011

  3. I’m expecting some JuJu cups too. Can’t wait to see them.

    I’m one of those women you mentioned who can cut the entire stem off all the way down to the base, or turn a cup inside out, and still grab it just fine, lol.

    I’m really short up inside (low cervix), so in general, I tend to have less problems with cups as a whole. The only cups that give me trouble are the super long ones, like large Yuuki, Diva, etc. In that case, its just the length, like the bottom of the cup wanting to protrude out of me. I’ve had grip problems with Ladycup before. And the old style Melunas. But just the grip. I never had trouble reaching it.

    I learned that using toilet paper to dry your fingers off a few times during removal really works wonders with grip on slippery cups. But again, that’s with me. I’m sure my being very short inside is what makes it easier.

    I’m curious to see this cup though.

    Comment by menstrualcupinfo | August 6, 2011

  4. Ty, Obsidian!^^
    As for the removal with a slippery cup.. Once, i was wearing the large Ladycup (so, its stem was completely cut off), and at the end of the shower time, i rinsed the vagina opening for some time-thoroughly, as i usually do (and so, the water stream reached a bit inside the vagina too.)
    Then i removed the Lady, and it felt not slippery *at all*, was very easy to remove ; but the bottom of the cup wasn’t very far from the opening + i was in a squatting position ;), which shortens the vagina.
    Thus, the water ‘dried’ the mucous skin and the cup itself (without feeling irritating either^.)
    So, maybe when the stem’s still here, showering might even help a bit more, lol!

    Comment by Quitterie | August 6, 2011

  5. Thanks for the review! Do you think that for somebody’s first cup this would be a little hard to remove because of the stem grip issue? I’d get the small model but I can never find my cervix, so who knows how long it is. I *think* it’s short. Maybe.
    Or would I just adapt and learn because I have nothing to compare it to?

    Comment by Rose | October 12, 2011

  6. Personally I do think, yes, it could be one of the more difficult cups for a first time user. I definitely would not recommend the larger one for a first time user, the smaller one might be ok though. If you’ve got longer fingers, it might be fine. So long as you’re aware there could be a potential issue though, you’re less likely to panic and consider it “stuck” :D

    Drying it off and bearing down to get it to the point you can break the suction and you should be fine.

    I don’t think I’ve ever found my cervix either, it’s not essential for using a cup. They say to make sure your cervix is in the cup, but really you just need to make sure that you’re not positioning the cup so that your cervix isn’t in the cup – if all you can feel around it is vaginal wall, and it’s not leaking.. it’s good!

    Interestingly, their blog today has a post about removal issues, so I suspect I’m not the only one to have had the problem…

    http://jujucup.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/where-did-my-juju-go/

    The claim pulling on the stem makes the suction greater and that the stem is there for insertion only (how that works, I’m not too sure)…. and they recommend using toilet paper on the stem to dry it off if it is slippery (which does work).

    I have never seen another cup company specifically address issues of a slippery cup hampering removal….(general removal issues yes, but none specifically relating to the slipperiness issue)…. and while the others say not to pull the cup out by the stem, it seems to be standard practice to pull down on the stem to help you reach it.

    — take from that what you will :D

    Comment by obsidian | October 19, 2011

  7. Hi, there!
    I have three menstrual cups and would like some advice on which other ones to try for possibly a better fit. Here have been my problems with each. This will surely be TMI but hey, that’s how we figure these things out, isn’t it?
    1. Keeper – I tried this one because it’s rubber–the one from the gladrags people. I didn’t want to love silicone. But it hurt and leaked, both. So I gave it away to a friend that didn’t mind that I’d used it.
    2. Ladycup – I wanted to love this too but for some reason the color bothered me (I had ordered orange) and despite getting over the color issue eventually, I find that it leaks quite a bit and unexpectedly. I use a cotton pad for backup. The only time I got a perfect seal was when we were camping and there were cold water showers–surely the “sucking up” motion I made in the shower helped it get the perfect seal! Just a couple of days ago (today is the 4th day of the cycle) I finally figured out that my cervix was NOT in the cup. Thus the leaking. I repositioned (I have to insert it sideways if I lift one leg…or open both legs to insert then the cervix will be in the middle and then CHECK around it) and it was fine…until later and more leakage.
    3. I finally got tired of that and opened the box for the Yukki cup I had ordered months before. I had already given away the small one (it was about the same size as the keeper that didn’t work right) so tried the big one which originally I had guessed would be way too long. I’m kind of short inside. So I tried the big Yukki and it worked the best of all three. It had a perfect seal and then…(argh!) a wee bit of leaking that increased overnight. It’s also the fourth day now so it’s harder to tell how effective the Yukki will be on a heavier day. Usually I don’t even fill up a cup in 24 hours even on the first day. Yes I have left it in that long–when the ladycup was new, we were traveling and I had little choice in the matter. It hurt to remove and re-insert it while I was getting used to it. I could also feel it and it got kind of sore. But on the road the only other choices were disposables. I had gotten the cups in the first place because the newer chemicals in pads were giving me a rash. So no go there anymore.

    Do you think the Yukki has apparently worked the best so far because it’s a bit more rigid than the ladycup? Also my ladycup does have a little bit of an outside ridge. Can rigidity make a difference in leakage, either pro or con?

    I had wanted to try the Juju cup because I’m kind of sensitive to the bumps and don’t have any issues removing cups. I have cut the stems entirely off all three. I think I would only get a clear cup from now on. Plus the butterfly must be pretty :) and it’s cool that it’s from Australia.

    What cups would you recommend that I try?

    by the way the friend that I gave the rubber cup to tried it and had trouble removing it. We rolled over laughing while she told me she had ended up calling in her husband to get it out with pliers! (what a funny picture!) She said she would go to the Dr. and get fit for a diaphragm…it would be easier for her to remove and still be reusable.
    :)
    Thanks in advance for any recommendations!

    Comment by Lisa | August 16, 2012

  8. I tried a Juju (being from Perth, Australia where the Juju company is based), and it was a nightmare! The lack of thought in design is a real problem – especially for removal. The sides have no ridges or other feature for gripping and the stem has no features for grip either. I spent an entire hour 1 morning removing this thing (late for work because of it) and ended up having to ‘coax’ the thing out with a teaspoon (failing that it was going to be a trip to the doctor)! I developed significant internal swelling due to my repeated and sutained efforts to remove this cup, and then ended up with a urinary tract infection from the trauma! I would not recommend this product at all! Its design is so is poorly considered – I can only guess that the people at Australia’s TGA are blokes.

    Despite the horrors of a Juju, I like the idea of cups enough to give something else a try

    Comment by Donna | August 22, 2012

  9. Lisa – I’m afraid I can’t give any recommendations on what will work best for you – but good luck in your search for the right cup :( Are you sure you’re making sure the cup is fully open?

    Comment by obsidian | August 24, 2012

  10. well, I’m just about to venture into the menstrual cup world, and by the sounds of things I will be avoiding the juju cup…there are so many to choose from so I thank you, and all the other commenting ladies, for your shared experiences!

    Comment by Tam | September 17, 2013

  11. Thanks for the great review obsidian!
    I had my cup yesterday for the first time, insertion was super easy but removal freaked me out. I inserted as the guide sayids stop as soon as you can’t see the stem. But when I woke up it was 4-5cm inside. I really and to squat down to get it out. And now I’m freaking out to use it again as I worried that it will go further in, is this normal based on your experience or is it really stay in one place as guide line looks like. Thank you again for the review!!

    Comment by YJ | March 28, 2014

  12. Wow, glad to hear from seasoned users that the Juju is a tricky little sucker (pun intended). I had never used a cup before so was a total “cup virgin”, and decided to buy Juju as it is Australian made.

    I’m on day 3 and my first impression so far had been that they’re probably not for me, but that I would stick it out for this cycle and maybe another because, for some reason people rave about these things so I’m figuring it must get better.

    For me I had no problem right from the start with the insertion…but removal! A rookie + size 2 Juju cup = mini heart attack! It took me 3 separate tries in various positions over a 30 minute period before I could work out how the heck to get the thing out. I have a fairly even temperament and like to think I can rationally cope with most things, but my heart rate was definitely elevated and more than once the word “hospital” flashed on my mind. It didn’t come to that though, thankfully :)

    The stem was very slippery, the cup was very slippery and my fingers weren’t long enough to slide up and break the seal, and I couldn’t grip anything, so it just stayed put.
    At one point I was looking like Quasimodo hunched on the edge of my bed with about 5 different digits inside me trying to grapple with stem, base and rim all at once, all while bearing down, thinking “how could THIS be better than tampons?!”
    Anyway, a bit of fiddling later, and this seemed to have dried the cup enough to get a good grip, so I pinched and walked that baby outta me in the least correct way, with the rim pretty much expanded as large as possible (not folded), which has given me some confidence that I’ll be ok during childbirth. :P

    That ordeal was day 1. I felt pretty proud that I’d managed it and kept going the next 2 days. I’m so glad to hear someone say that the Juju number 2 is not great for beginners, because I was really starting to wonder why everyone loves these things and found them easy while I was feeling the exact opposite.

    So my advice for newbies, the Juju number 2 is not for the faint-hearted. I wouldn’t recommend it if you panic easily. As for me, a newbie using a Juju number 2, I’m pretty patient and persistent and have learnt that, yes, they do come out, so if you’re pro-Australian products give it a go. Just understand that you are probably dealing with a product better suited to experienced users than beginners.

    And some more tips for newbies – cut your fingernails! I was so exasperated at one point, I washed my hands and chewed 2 or 3 of mine off. I had no idea there were so many places to catch your nails on or accidentally pinch. I don’t know how people with acrylic nails use these things.
    Bearing down is your new best friend. It is the very best way to push the cup towards the outside world.
    Last tip, I don’t believe “pinching the base” could ever work as a removal technique for Juju size 2. I have had to punch at least and inch and a bit before anything will release. So don’t worry if you’re not breaking suction pinching the base, just try to pinch it higher as this will bend the rim easier.

    I’m looking forward to mastering the cup which I’m sure will take many cycles. But until I do, I’ll never know how good or mediocre they really are.

    Over and out.

    Comment by Nicole | April 7, 2014


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers