Menstrual Cups

Squishiness Ratings

I’ve been asked about comparison “squishiness” of all the cups.  This is hard to rate really, but I will give it a shot.  This is just my opinion, it’s quite hard to judge, and the cup sizes actually make a difference in squishiness.  Some cups are stiffer at the rim, than they are in the body.

I’m rating these from 1-10.  1 being most squishy, 10 being least squishy.   Basically it is rated on how much effort it takes to push the material in.

 

July 24, 2009 - Posted by | comparisons |

5 Comments »

  1. Hi there,
    just wanted to say that I have a whole new appreciation for this chart and how difficult it must have been to judge the cups ;).
    I just received my small Yuuki and compared it to my large Lunette, and the Lunette felt squishier, although it’s supposed to be stiffer than both Yuukis. Then I tried to push in just one part of either the wall or the rim, instead of the cup as a whole, because the difference in width/diameter seemed to affect the stiffness-factor, too, but it was still so difficult to tell a difference! And only when I inserted and removed the small Yuuki for the first time, did I experience how much squishier and softer it in fact is. Compared to the Yuuki, the Lunette feels as if I’m ripping out my insides during removal ;), I never had an idea how uncomfortable it actually is!
    (and now I feel bad for speaking badly of my Lunette and neglecting it for the “new shiny thing” *g*)

    Comment by Bea | June 23, 2010

  2. Hi!
    Thanks for this great website, it provides brilliant information!
    I’d like to ask you about a couple of cups.
    I’ve been using Divacup and Fleurcup and had problems with both opening up, so I had leakings with both also (much less with Fleur). Seeing your “squishiness” ratings I realise that you consider the Lunette to be stiffer than the Mooncup. I was considering buying either of these cups to sort out “opening” trouble. The thing is that I used to have a Moon (small) when I was younger but after having my baby and having a IUD, I preferred to go for more squishy cups. Big mistake! Because I haven’t managed to have a “clean” period since!
    So, I see in both websites of these brands that they are all okay with IUD, but I’d like to know your opinion about actual opening and leaking problems with either, and also other details about sizes and capacities (as I see that they are about the same size but Moon seems to have far less capabicity).
    Thanks very much for writing!
    Laura

    Comment by Laura | July 26, 2010

  3. well it hard to judge and this is just my opinion on squishyness… but the Lunette/Mooncup has different squishyness depending on where in the cup you measure, so you could say that overall they probably equal out, though if you’re thinking of it for opening reasons, then the rim squishyness is probably the more important factor.

    I can’t give any recommendations on an IUD or what might work better for you, sorry.

    Comment by obsidian | August 8, 2010

  4. Hey I was wondering about how “squishy” the small lunette’s were…

    Comment by Jessalyn | July 5, 2011

  5. I don’t have a small Lunette to try I’m afraid :(

    Comment by obsidian | July 26, 2011


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers